British Championship

Current Champion: 
Daniel Hu

British Championship: Title Match between top two from Challengers' League

Our premier national competition. It consists of several stages: Candidates' Tournament, Challengers' League and the Title Match, the results of which are shown here.

The title match is the best of three or five games (the players choose); until 2010 it was best of five (apart from 1974 when it was a single game).

More detail is available from the British Championship pages

Links below to year reports with sgf game records (back to 1997), or to individual sgf game records (earlier years).

The 2020 Championship was eventually cancelled due to the Coronovirus pandemic.

Past Winners and Results: 
Start Year: 

Last updated Sat Aug 15 2020. If you have any comments, please email the webmaster on web-master AT britgo DOT org.